Recipe: Lamb Stroganoff and Artichoke

Posted: August 17, 2010 in Food, recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

I initially wanted to make a tomato sauce dish with the lamb chop I recently bought, but instead decided I would experiment a bit and try something different. I have been wanting to prepare a Stroganoff dish in a while so I decided I might as well make it with lamb since I had the basic ingredients needed for the sauce. And considering I had just purchased three artichokes the day before I decided to cook those as well and enjoy one or two as a side-dish. This isn’t the prettiest dish but I really enjoyed the end result. The sauce tastes a bit like sauerkraut and compliments the richness of the lamb quite well. One thing I would be careful of is the fact that once you top your lamb chop with the sauce, it is a bit hard to see where the bones are underneath. I don’t bother trimming or slicing my artichokes in half when I cook them because I’ve eaten them this way all of my life and it takes no preparation. You may dip the artichoke in mayo, butter, or a mixture of olive oil, vinegar and salt. There are several other dips you can make as well such as mustard sauces.

Tip: You can cook all of your artichokes at once and just refrigerate what’s left over. Artichokes are just as good cold as they are hot, in fact, they’re also quite delicious uncooked!

Lamb chop

What you will need…

  • One or two lamb chops (depending on their size).
  • One onion and a few cloves of garlic.
  • Some sort of fat, such as butter, or meat drippings (you can also collect the lamb drippings and use those).
  • Sour cream (about 5 teaspoons).
  • Some olive oil.
  • Mustard (one and a half teaspoons).
  • Horseradish (about half a teaspoon or more depending on your tastes).
  • Salt, chili or paprika powder and rosemary to taste.

    Chopped onions and garlic

How to make it…

  1. Rub the lamb chop with the herbs and spices. Sprinkle some salt on top as well.
  2. Chop the onion and garlic and place in a pan with a thin layer of olive oil.
  3. Place the lamb chop either in the oven (you can cook the an artichoke wrapped in aluminum foil at the same time) or cook it in a pan. I like my lamb to be cooked medium with a crust on both sides. I cooked mine at 400 degrees and just kept checking it to see when it was cooked the way I like it.
  4. Fry up the onions and garlic on medium heat until they turn transparent and then add about two teaspoons of butter (or meat drippings).
  5. Let the onions and garlic caramelize.
  6. Once the onions have shrunk and have turned a light brown, add the sour cream, mustard and horseradish.
  7. Mix well and allow to simmer on medium-low until the sauce is hot.
  8. Once the lamb chop is ready, place it in a place, then place some of the onion Stroganoff sauce on top.
  9. Enjoy with the side of artichoke!

    Top view

Leave a Reply

