Review: Seagram’s Escapes Peach Fuzzy Navel

Posted: August 11, 2010 in drinks, Product Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Seagram's Peach Fuzzy Navel

I haven’t really been able to get into drinking alcohol unless I was having a glass of wine or beer with a good meal, but I always end up hoping that I can find at least something that I can drink to relax that can give me a little buzz without giving me a headache and heartburn to boot. Of course, I didn’t think to get my hopes up with this one considering this drink is in the same league as those Smirnoff fruit flavored drinks which usually make me quite sick to my stomach, those, and the Mike’s hard lemonades. I tried drinking one of these with lunch the other day and thought it did have a nice light ‘fake’ peach flavor, it still was overwhelmingly sweet especially since it seemed a bit flat. Not only that, but it was like drinking orange drink which I’m not too fond of myself. It wasn’t terrible, but it didn’t do much for me other than make me want to wash it down with whatever I was eating. I guess these would be okay if you don’t mind over-sweetened ‘natural’ flavored soda that tastes like it was poured out of a shoe, but then again, it isn’t as bad as one of those Clamato beers (and I actually don’t mind Clamato). If your stomach can stand these wine cooler type drinks, you should definitely stick to Mike’s or Boone’s or even better, stick with Arbor Mist for a more wine-like flavor — or just go for wine all together. Considering it isn’t sour at all, it can get pretty nauseating towards half bottle.

In short, I wasn’t too fond of this drink, though I thought it had a lot more potential, but just for the simple fact that its natural flavor tasted just as fake as any artificial flavoring I’ve ever tasted and that it was so sugary I thought I was sucking down a lolly pop, it could have been a lot better. But for those who don’t fear instantly being afflicted with diabetes, this drink isn’t really too bad. I don’t think I will be buying this drink again even if I were more interested in alcoholic drinks, but hey, if they ever decide to make it with actual sugar (instead of what I suspect is HFCS) and try to make it a lot less sweet, then who knows, I may actually be interested in it. Again, if you’re a sugar junkie, you probably will be okay drinking this. I personally didn’t care for it, but I wouldn’t necessarily not recommend it. Oh, and also, it contains sulfites, which I guess is unavoidable with certain brewing processes, but in this case I think they were added in.

Rating: 4 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

